LSU safety Craig Loston named to Thorpe Award watch list

Photo provided by Jim Thorpe Award.
Friday, July 12, 2013 - 5:30pm

The pre-season accolades continue to roll in for LSU safety Craig Loston as the senior was named to his third watch list when the Jim Thorpe Award, presented annually to college football’s top defensive back, unveiled its list of candidates on Friday.

Loston is one of 48 players nationally up for the honor, a list that includes four standouts from the Southeastern Conference. The SEC has claimed four straight Thorpe Awards highlighted by back-to-back trophies from LSU All-Americans Patrick Peterson (2010) and Morris Claiborne (2011). LSU is one of only two schools (Texas the other) to claim back-to-back Thorpe Awards since the establishment of the accolade in 1986.

Loston will spearhead the Tiger secondary in 2013 after ranking fifth on the squad in tackles with 55 last season to go along with three interceptions. A second-team All-SEC recipient, Loston elected to return to LSU for his senior season where he is also a candidate for the Bednarik Award and the Bronko Nagurski Trophy.

The Jim Thorpe Award watch list is chosen by a screening committee who compile a list of 30-50 players. The Thorpe Award winner is selected from three finalists and will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 12, 2013 live on ESPN.

Follow LSU football on Twitter at and on Facebook at

2013 Jim Thorpe Award Pre-season Watch List

•Kenneth Acker, Southern Methodist (CB), Sr.
•Ricardo Allen, Purdue (CB), Sr.
•Dion Bailey, Southern California (S), Sr.
•C.J. Barnett, Ohio State (S), Sr.
•Bene Benwikere, San Jose State (S), Sr.
•Nat Berhe, San Diego State (S), Sr.
•Tre Boston, North Carolina (S), Sr.
•Christian Bryant, Ohio State (S), Sr.
•Deone Bucannon, Washington State (S), Sr.
•Kevin Byard, Middle Tennessee State (S), So.
•Carrington Byndom, Texas (CB), Sr.
•Ibraheim Campbell, Northwestern (S), Jr.
•Sam Carter, TCU (S), Jr.
•Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama (S), Jr.
•Ross Cockrell, Duke (CB), Sr.
•Aaron Colvin, Oklahoma (S), Sr.
•Alden Darby, Arizona State (S), Sr.
•Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State (CB), Sr.
•Quandre Diggs, Texas (CB), Jr.
•Ahmad Dixon, Baylor (S), Sr.
•Jonathan Dowling, Western Kentucky (S), Jr.
•Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon (CB), Jr.
•Ciante Evans, Nebraska (CB), Sr.
•Antone Exum, Virginia Tech (CB), Sr.
•Phillip Gaines, Rice (CB), Sr.
•Andre Hal, Vanderbilt (S), Sr.
•Najja Johnson, Buffalo (S), Sr.
•L. J. Jones, Fresno State (S), Sr.
•Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State (CB), Sr.
•Isaiah Lewis , Michigan State (S), Sr.
•Craig Loston, LSU (S), Sr.
•Daytawion Lowe, Oklahoma State (S), Sr.
•Terrance Mitchell, Oregon (S), Jr.
•Marco Nelson, Tulsa (S), Sr.
•Isaiah Newsome, Louisiana at Monroe (S), Sr.
•Dayonne Nunley, Miami, OH (CB), Sr.
•Calvin Pryor, Louisville (S), Jr.
•Ed Reynolds, Stanford (S), Sr.
•Rashaad Reynolds, Oregon State (CB), Sr.
•Jordan Richards, Stanford (S), Jr.
•Bradley Roby, Ohio State (CB), Jr.
•Derron Smith, Fresno State (S), Jr.
•Hakeem Smith, Louisville (S), Sr.
•Damian Swann, Georgia (CB), Jr.
•Jason Verrett TCU (CB), Sr.
•Jimmie Ward, Northern Illinois (S), Sr.
•Deron Wilson, Southern Mississippi (S), Sr.
•Ty Zimmerman, Kansas State (S), Sr.
2013 LSU Football on Pre-season Watch Lists

•Maxwell Award: Zach Mettenberger
•Bednarik Award: Lamin Barrow, Anthony Johnson, Craig Loston
•Outland Trophy: La’el Collins, Anthony Johnson
•Bronko Nagurski Trophy: Anthony Johnson, Craig Loston
•Jim Thorpe Award: Craig Loston



Comments News Comments

Post new Comment